This landscape ‘A Corner of Esher Common’ was painted by Sutton Palmer and is printed on a postcard. It is number 39 in the Surrey series.
During this part of the buildings history, it was owned and run by The Electrical Trade Unions College.
This pictures shows The Mills behind the beautiful views of the river and bridge. After centuries of industry the site is now controlled by the council and has a new look to suit. https://www.postcardsthenandnow.com/2010/12/esher-surrey-mills-c1912.html?m=1
There is an entrance to Sandown Park racecourse on Lower Green Road, just where the secondary train station entrance meets the road. They host race days, music concerts, exhibitions as well as a variety of permanent fixtures such as a Golf Course, Go Carting and a Gym.
In this 1937 landscape of Wolsey’s Tower by Colin Statham you can see Esher Palace viewed from the west with the River Mole in the foreground. This was part of a series of destination posters produced for Shell. https://nationalmotormuseum.org.uk/shell-collection/wolseys-tower-esher-place/
This idilic Christmas post card depicts the former Esher Toll Gate, located on Portsmouth Road. Below is a more photorealistic depiction of the gate in 1870.
Another gem in the Farm Road Recreation Ground’s, the dual court for basketball and football.
This pair of fabulous gate houses were a one time the entrance to Esher Place, and nestled behind the green but in front of the river is Waynefleet Tower. At this point in the buildings past it was managed by the Surrey Education Committee. Never absent, never late.
This poster “No.3; Esher” by Clive Gardiner was produced in 1930 for the Underground Electric Railways Company and features an idilic view of Esher. https://www.ltmuseum.co.uk/collections/collections-online/artwork/item/1986-47
In the Farm Road Recreation Grounds there is a full size football pitch, with goals, marking and lights that can be hired out, contact the community centre for more info.